Safe hull substitution? (20 ga.)

General data and information handloading data

Moderator: hawglips

bjp9527

Safe hull substitution? (20 ga.)

Postby bjp9527 » Tue Oct 05, 2021 9:29 pm

I have read online that fiocci hulls (3in. 20ga.) and cheddite hulls are pretty much identical, but fiocci and cheddite primers are not. Can anyone confirm or correct this? I don't want to blow my gun up (or worse) by making an unsafe hull substitution.

I'm just getting into handloading since the shelves have been pretty sparse on 20 ga. When I started doing a little research, I find out that TSS and duplex loads can do a lot better than anything that would be commercially available anyway - so here I am.

I've been limited in what to buy based on what's available, rather than being able to get a load recipe and buy every component for it. I have fiocci hulls (I wanted cheddite but couldn't find them), and I have cheddite primers. I'm able to find loads that call for fiocci primers and hulls, or for cheddite primers and hulls, but not any that mix and match.

patternfreak

Re: Safe hull substitution? (20 ga.)

Postby patternfreak » Wed Oct 06, 2021 7:46 am

The fiocchi primers are generally going to be a little colder than the cheddites. I would feel comfortable substituting data for a load with a cheddite hull into a fiocchi hull. I WOULD NOT feel comfortable doing this the other way around and substituting a cheddite hull/primer into a tested fiocchi load.

At the end of the day ballistic testing is cheap insurance. You can send 5 shots, pay $25, and know for sure

hawglips

Postby hawglips » Wed Oct 06, 2021 9:19 am